Written by: Kyra Campbell

FC Cincinnati are on to the Quarterfinals of the U.S. Open Cup after its penalty kick win over the New York Red Bulls on Tuesday.

FCC’s lineup featured just four starters from last weekend’s Hell is Real derby: Yerson Mosquera, Nick Hagglund, Obinna Nwobodo, and Luciano Acosta. Alec Kann got the start in goal, as he has in all Open Cup games this year. Ian Murphy rounded out the backline, while Santiago Arias and Alvas Powell slotted in at the wingback positions. Malik Pinto and Marco Angulo joined Nwobodo in the midfield and Yuya Kubo paired up with Lucho up top.

Cincinnati started off the match slow, failing to record a shot on target until much later in the half. The Red Bulls had a couple of looks from distance, but it was a stalemate until the 42nd minute, when Kubo was able to net his first goal of the season off a Lucho assist. The Red Bulls, however, dominated much of the second half. Just when it looked as though FCC were going to be able to weather the onslaught of the New York attack, Dante Vanzeir found the equalizer in stoppage time sending the match to extra time. New York had the front foot for much of the extra thirty minutes, but the Orange and Blue were able to see the game out to penalties. FC Cincinnati kicked first in penalties and Lucho converted his. Kann saved Vanzeir’s penalty, New York’s first, allowing Cincinnati to have the upperhand going forward. Cincinnati and New York went toe to toe through the next three rounds, with Junior Moreno, Dominique Badji, and Mosquera making theirs for Cincy, while Elias Manoel, Wikelman Carmona, and Cristian Casseres Jr. converting for the Red Bulls. Alvaro Barreal’s fifth round penalty sent FCC on to the next round.

FC Cincinnati will continue its Open Cup run on June 6th or 7th, when it will host the Pittsburgh Riverhounds of the USL Championship in the quarterfinals. In the meantime, FC Cincinnati returns to MLS league play and will travel to Denver this weekend to take on the Colorado Rapids on Saturday. Kickoff is at 9:30pm EST and fans can catch the action, as always, on the MLS Season Pass on Apple TV.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *